Deadline Approaching: California Sexual Harassment Training
Employees must complete training by Jan. 1, 2021.
California law requires all employers of 5 or more employees to provide 1 hour of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to nonsupervisory employees and 2 hours of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to supervisors and managers once every two years.
The law requires the training to include practical examples of harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation.
The Department of Fair Employment and Housing provides free online training courses on preventing sexual harassment and abusive conduct in the workplace, which satisfy California’s legal training requirements. Scroll down for the links 👇
California Employer Requirements
- Employers must retain a record of all employees’ training for a minimum of two years.
- Employers must provide sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to employees every two years.
- Employers must provide employees with a poster or fact sheet developed by the Department regarding Sexual Harassment, or equivalent information.
- To learn more about this and other requirements, please see our Frequently Asked Questions.
Click here for the non-supervisor training: https://sexual-harassment-prevention-training.dfeh.ca.gov/NonSupervisoryEnglish/story.html
Click here for the supervisor training: https://sexual-harassment-prevention-training.dfeh.ca.gov/SupervisoryEnglish/story.html